Mayor Craig  A.  Moe

City of Laurel, Maryland


Mayor Craig A. Moe was re-elected to his forth term as Mayor of the City of Laurel on November 3, 2015 with 93% of the vote, Mayor Moe was sworn in to office on November 9, 2015.  Mayor Moe was re-elected to Mayor of the City of Laurel on November 1, 2011 and was sworn into office on November 28, 2011. Mayor Moe was re-elected with 50% of the vote in a three way race for Mayor.  Mayor Moe began his second term in office when re-elected on March 20, 2006 and sworn in on March 27, 2006. Mayor Moe was first elected as Mayor of the City of Laurel on March 18, 2002 and sworn into Office on March 25, 2002. Prior to his election to Mayor he served six terms on the Laurel City Council. He also served as President of the Council from March 1996 to March 1998.

Mayor Moe is currently employed with the State of Maryland, Maryland Transit Administration.  Mayor Moe served in the Maryland Transit Administration Police Force from 2003 to 2007 as a Special Assistant to the Police Chief and as Maryland’s Assistant Secretary of State from 1999 until 2003. Mayor Moe has also been appointed to serve on the Governor's Emergency Management Advisory Council/State Emergency Response Commission and the State of Maryland Interoperability Governance Committee. After serving for ten years on the Maryland Municipal League's Board of Directors, Mayor Moe was elected MML President in 2009/2010.

Mayor Moe has lived in Prince George's County, Maryland since 1959. Educated in the Prince George's County school system, he graduated from Laurel Senior High School in 1977. Having lived in the City of Laurel for over twenty-five years, Mayor Moe began his public service to the community when he joined the Laurel Volunteer Fire Department in April 1976. Mayor Moe's involvement continued with the City when then Mayor Robert J. DiPietro appointed him to serve on the City of Laurel's July 4th Committee. He was instrumental in starting the first Winter Holiday Celebration Parade, which has continued to this day. Since that appointment, he has attended and actively participated and chaired many public service oriented committees in and around the City of Laurel

Mayor Moe is a past President and past Fire Chief of the Laurel Volunteer Fire Department. He was the youngest member ever elected to the Office of President in 1983. In 1986, he was elected President of the Prince George's County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association, again the youngest President elected to that position and was elected to a second successive term. Mayor Moe served on the Maryland State Firemen's Association Executive Committee for several years and one year as its chair. He continues to serve the Laurel Volunteer Fire Department and community by actively attending meetings, is active in emergency operations, and continues to satisfy the Department requirements for active members.

As Councilman, Mayor Moe represented the City Council on the Laurel Planning Commission, Laurel Cable TV Arbitration Board and was the Chair of the Public Safety Committee. He is currently serving his 12th year on the Maryland Municipal League’s Board of Directors. He has twice been appointed to the Maryland Municipal League's Legislative Committee and twice to the Convention Planning Committee, serving as the Chair of the Committee in 1999. He also has served on various State, County and local committees and task forces. Mr. Moe is a former member of the Northern Chapter of the American Heart Association. He is a member of the First United Methodist Church of Laurel.

During his tenure on the Laurel City Council, Mayor Moe successfully sponsored legislation to establish a juvenile curfew while protecting the rights of citizens. He continues to support Public Safety groups and their goals. Mayor Moe has updated and sponsored legislation to the City's Ethics laws, Historical District Guidelines, Adequate Public Facilities laws, and the City's elections laws.  Mayor Moe has assigned City Department Heads to represent the City on matters of regional importance within their specific specialty, background, and training.  In addition, he has worked tirelessly to insist upon the right balance of growth and quality development that will increase and protect the City's revenues while minimizing the tax burden, and preserving the quality of life that the citizens of Laurel enjoy.

As Mayor, the Moe Administration has established the Revitalization Overlay Program that has allowed the City to redevelop from within its corporate limits. His administration has worked to enhance the appearance of Main Street with streetscape enhancements and lighting.

Mayor Moe worked to create the position of Emergency Services Director to better serve and coordinate efforts before, during and after an emergency. The Deputy City Administrator has been appointed to that position. The creation of a local Emergency Operations Center has been established and the Citizens Emergency Response Team was developed. Emergency Services have been improved and enhanced. Many new positions have been added within the Laurel Police Department as well as a new command structure to better serve the department and its citizens.

Under the Moe Administration, the employee pay has been enhanced to remain competitive with area employers and technology enhancements have been made to take the City forward to providing e-government services. The Moe Administration has established the Laurel Civic Improvement Committee to promote a more attractive appearance to the City streets. In 2007 the Moe Administration recognized the cost savings by bringing the recycling program "in house" under the direction of the Department of Public Works. Mayor Moe established the Mayor’s Annual Open House which showcases City services and City volunteer organizations.

Partnerships with area local governments and Fort Meade have been established for better and strategic communications and planning.

In 1987 and 1998, Mayor Moe was recognized among the "Outstanding Young Men of America".  He was inducted into the Hall of Fame to the Prince George's County Volunteer Fire and Rescue Association.  He was honored to have been selected the Laurel Volunteer Fire Department's Firefighter of the Year award four times.  He is the recipient of the Alvin Fairall Award and the Harrison-Beard Award.  He has received countless awards for his service and community efforts to the State, County and community.

Oops! This site has expired.

If you are the site owner, please renew your premium subscription or contact support.